Birthday meal

26 Feb

I seem to be another year older – not sure how because it doesn’t feel like 12 months since my last birthday but I’d guess that’s just the way life goes!

I invited some people round for dinner and tried out some new dishes.

As a starter I made stuffed mushrooms – one batch were stuffed with cashew nuts and pesto (just whizzed up in the food processor) and the other with spinach, sun dried tomatoes, cous cous and parmesan cheese. The cous cous was instead of bread crums and I was quite pleased with the result and my guests liked them as well.

For the main course I just cooked salmon steaks drizzled with olive oil and wrapped in foil with a slice of lemon. They were then just put in the oven at 180C for 15 minutes. I also cooked some chunky roast potato wedges. Cut big potatoes into wedges, coat with olive oil and whatever herbs are handy (I used fresh rosemary and dried coriander), sprinkle chopped garlic in the pan and then pop in the oven at 220C for 45 minutes.

Pudding was pannacotta – I’ve never made this before and the recipes I found all talked about using leaf gelatine but I only had powered. I suspect the quantity isn’t critical but 1 small packet (about 12g) worked well with 500ml double cream 500ml milk – this made 8 ramekin sized individual puddings. I then served this with a raspberry coulis and some whole raspberries and strawberries as garnish.

 

One Response to “Birthday meal”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities 26 February 2012 at 20:45 #

    SALMON! The best birthday meal… or ANY DAY MEAL ever! 🙂 Obsessed.
    Your meal sounds delicious! I wish i was invited, lol.

Leave a Reply

