Slow cooker meals

20 Feb

I bought a slow cooker a few years ago (actually, my “friend” put it in the trolley for me while we were out shopping – I wasn’t really sure I needed it!) and it’s turned out to be one of my most useful pieces of kitchen equipment. It cost less than £15 so it’s also by far the best value.

It works well for cheaper cuts of meat – pretty much anything sold for stewing works and you can adapt recipes that are designed for a slow oven.

My most recent meal was made with a pack of meat sold as stewing lamb but lamb neck would have worked well. I wanted to do something a bit like a lamb tagine; I’m not sure that’s what I got but it was pretty tasty!

I cut half a dozen small onions in half and laid them on the bottom of the pot (don’t chop stuff finely; the slow cooking means you end up with slush if you’re not careful!) I then added some meat, a small bunch of coriander (this was chopped finely – it works best when it does disappear into the liquid) some dried figs (about 250g) a good handful of olives and a can of chick peas and a little water (I half filled the chick pea can)

The lid goes on, I put the slow cooker on its low setting and went to work. 10 hours later I came home to the most marvellous smell! I knew the lamb, figs and chick peas would work but I wasn’t so sure about the olives. When I make it again, I think I’ll only use the olives as a garnish before serving – they rather dominate the taste (I like olives a lot but they’re just a bit too strong compared to the figs)

Leave a Reply

